DUI Lawyer In Shelby Township, Michigan
DUI Lawyer in Shelby Township, Michigan provides criminal defense for DUI (driving under influence) and OWI (operating while intoxicated) for Michigan clients.
Andy Hubbs is one of the most respected DUI attorneys in Michigan. Since 2001, he has achieved defended his clients for OWI, DUI and related traffic crimes as a criminal law lawyer.
DUI Lawyer Frequently Asked Questions
How Much Does A DUI Lawyer Cost In Michigan?
Costs will vary for hiring a DUI lawyer in Sterling Heights, Michigan.
DUI lawyer costs vary due to a few reasons, including the lawyer’s hourly rate and expected time spent defending your case. On average, lawyer costs can range anywhere from $1,000 to $25,000, depending on the experience of your lawyer and the complexity of your case. However, the average DUI fee in Michigan can cost you anywhere between $5,000 to $7,500.
While lawyer fees can be quite expensive, a DUI charge can come with several other costs, including increased insurance rates, district court costs, and alcohol counseling. These costs may become more severe with two or three DUI convictions, as this turns into a felony charge after three convictions over a lifetime in the state of Michigan.
At Hubbs Law Group, we are committed to working hard to fight for your interests throughout the process. Our law office is highly respected in Michigan, having fairly represented thousands of clients. Our trial lawyers are highly experienced and knowledgeable in criminal law and estate planning, prioritizing their understanding of your needs and interests.
Do I Need A Lawyer For Owi In Michigan?
If you need an OWI lawyer in Sterling Heights, MI, Hubbs Law Group can help represent you.
An OWI, or Operating While Intoxicated charge, has serious consequences. Under Michigan law, an OWI is defined as operating a vehicle:
If it is one’s first offense, an OWI is punishable by several sanctions, including a fine, up to 93 days in jail, and a driver’s license suspension. While a first-offense DUI/OWI is a misdemeanor in Michigan, a third OWI within a lifetime is classified as a felony charge.
While you have the right to represent yourself, it is not advised as you will need to fully understand your charge before making any decision.
As drunk driving may have harsh punishments and severe consequences, it is strongly advised that you seek legal guidance from a highly experienced defense team. Guidance from a defense team will allow for a thorough analysis of your case to determine the fairest course of legal action.
How Likely Is Jail Time For First Dui?
Hubbs Law Group has highly experienced and professional DUI attorneys in Sterling Heights, Michigan.
Regardless of whether it’s your first-time DUI/DWI charge, the costs and consequences can be harsh. Under Michigan law, a first-offense DUI is classified as a misdemeanor. The punishments vary according to the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC), as Michigan law has enhanced penalties for BACs of .17 or higher.
While there are no mandatory jail sentences for first-time DUI offenders, judges can impose jail sentences for first DUI charges.
First-offense DUI charges with a BAC below .17 are punishable by up to 93 days of jail time, among other costs and consequences, including community service and a license suspension.
In the state of Michigan, a DUI is classified as a felony if someone was killed or injured or if it is the driver’s third or higher DUI. In these cases, jail sentences are not uncommon, though they will vary depending on the judge.
The costs and consequences of drunk driving can easily add up. If you are seeking a defense lawyer in Metro Detroit, including the Sterling Heights area, our lawyers at Hubbs Law Group are experienced in providing efficient representation in any case.
What Happens On Your First Dui?
If you’re looking for a professional and knowledgeable DUI attorney in Sterling Heights, Hubbs Law Group has the experience for even the most complex legal matters.
In Michigan, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or greater if the driver is above the age of 21 or .02 or greater if the driver is under the age of 21. Further, people caught driving with a BAC of .17 or higher may be subject to enhanced penalties in the state of Michigan.
The amount of alcohol needed to reach or exceed the BAC limit in question varies from person to person. Several factors may influence how a person is affected by alcohol, including body composition, food consumption prior to drinking, and smoking.
In Michigan, DUI/DWI convictions cannot be expunged from an individual’s record. With the severity of DUI charges, it is advised that you seek an experienced defense lawyer.
Is A Dui A Felony In Michigan?
If someone is charged with a third drinking and driving offense, then it is a felony. If someone also injures or kills someone, it is also a felony. Otherwise, most drinking and driving offenses are misdemeanors.
How Serious Is A Dui In Michigan?
It is a serious offense. It needs to be treated seriously. A conviction for a drinking and driving offense, even a misdemeanor, can have long term consequences.
How Long Does A Dui Stay On Your Record?
A drinking and driving conviction will stay on your record, unless you qualify for an expungement. An expungement for this offense is only available for a first offense.
How Many Points Is A Dui Michigan?
Operating while impaired carries four points. All other drinking and driving offenses are six points.
Dui Lawyer Serving Shelby Township, MI and Royal Oak, MI
The law office of Hubbs Law Group is highly knowledgeable in criminal law and estate planning, with years of experience representing thousands of clients.
At Hubbs Law Group, our lawyers serving Shelby Township, Royal Oak, Sterling Heights and the Metro Detroit area can represent your interests and needs. Contact us at 1-800-963-5294 for a free consultation and learn more about what we can do for you.
Note: The information on this page is not intended to be legal advice nor is it intended to form an attorney client relationship. An attorney client relationship is formed only when an engagement agreement has been signed by both attorney and prospective client and fees for services have been paid.